Theme and Track


The conference will consist of seven themes. Each theme will contain 7-10 tracks and each track will be divided into several sessions depending on the submission of abstracts.
When submitting your abstract, please choose the most related track according to the classification as listed below.
 
Themes Tracks
1.Materials Science
 
Theme Leaders:

Debes Bhattarcharyya
University Auckland, New Zealand

Ozden Ochoa
Texas A&M University, USA

Soon Hyung Hong
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea

Mingqiu Zhang
Sun Yat-Sen University, China
1.1 Polymer Matrix Materials
Track Leaders:
Joong Hee Lee Chonbuk National University, Korea joong.hee.lee@csfcm.org
Zhiyong(Richard)Liang Florida State University, USA zhiyong.liang@csfcm.org
Liqun Zhang Beijing University of Chemical Technology, USA liqun.zhang@csfcm.org
1.2 Ceramic Matrix Composites
Track Leaders:
Laifei Cheng Northwestern Polytechnical University, China laifei.cheng@csfcm.org
Xinghong Zhang Harbin Institute of Technology  China xinghong.zhang@csfcm.org
1.3 Metal Matrix Composites
Track Leaders:
Di Zhang Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
di.zhang@csfcm.org
Ho-Jin Ryu Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea ho-jin.ryu@csfcm.org
Daolun Chen Ryerson University, Canada
daolun.chen@csfcm.org
1.4 Green Composites
Track Leaders:
Jung-Il Song Changwon National University, Korea
jung-il.song@csfcm.org
Hao Wang University of Southern Queensland, Australia
hao.wang@csfcm.org
Yan Li Tongji University, China
yan.li@csfcm.org
Chang-Mou Wu National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, Taiwan,China
chang-mou.wu@csfcm.org
1.5 Bio-Composites
Track Leaders:
Bo Su University of Bristol, UK
bo.su123@csfcm.org
Kristiina Oksman Luleå University of Technology, Sweden
kristiina.oksman@csfcm.org
1.6 Nano-Composites
Track Leaders:
Jihua Gou University of Central Florida, USA
jihua.gou@csfcm.org
Robert J. Young University of Manchester, UK
robert.j.young@csfcm.org
Karl Schulte Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg, Germany
karl.schulte@csfcm.org
1.7 Fibers
Track Leaders:
Edith Mäder Leibniz Institut für Polymerforschung Dresden, Germany
edith.mader@csfcm.org
Kap-Seung Yang Chonnam National University, Korea
kap-seung.yang@csfcm.org
1.8 Fiber-reinforced Composites
Track Leaders:
Ramesh Talreja Texas A&M University, USA
ramesh.talreja@csfcm.org
Shaoyun Fu Chongqing University, China
shaoyun.fu@csfcm.org
1.9 Textile-Based Composites
Track Leaders:
Stepan Lomov KU Leuven, Belgium stepan.lomov@csfcm.org
John D. Whitcomb Texas A&M University, USA
john.d.whitcomb@csfcm.org
Frank K. Ko University of BritishColumbia, Canada
frank.k.ko@csfcm.org
1.10 Hybrid Composites
Track Leaders:
Erik Thostenson University of Delaware, USA
erik.thostenson@csfcm.org
Lars Berglund KTH Royal Inst of Technology, Sweden
lars.berglund@csfcm.org
1.11 Ductile and Pseudo-ductile Composites
Track Leaders:
Alexander Bismarck Imperial College London
alexander.bismarck@csfcm.org
Milo Shaffer Imperial College London
milo.shaffer@csfcm.org
Paul Robinson Imperial College London
paul.robinson@csfcm.org
Michael Wisnom University of Bristol, UK  
2.Structural Design
 
Theme Leaders:

Yapa D. S. Rajapakse
Office of Naval Research, USA

Anthony Waas
University of Washington, USA

Leif Asp
Luleå University of Technology, Sweden
2.1 Structural Analysis and Optimization
Track Leaders:
Heng Hu Wuhan University, China
heng.hu@csfcm.org
Fabrizio Scarpa University of Bristol, UK
fabrizio.scarpa@csfcm.org
Erik Lund Aalborg University, Denmark
erik.lund@csfcm.org
2.2 Multiscale Modelling of Structures
Track Leaders:
Aditi Chattopadhyay Arizona State University, USA
aditi.chattopadhyay@csfcm.org
James D. Lee The George Washington University, USA
james.d.lee@csfcm.org
Wenbin Yu Purdue University, USA
wenbin.yu@csfcm.org
Zhen Chen University of Missouri, USA
zhen.chen@csfcm.org
2.3 Damage Tolerance of Composites Structures
Track Leaders:
Pedro P. Camanho University of Porto, Portugal
pedro.p.camanho@csfcm.org
Ivana Partridge University of Bristol, UK
ivana.partridge@csfcm.org
2.4 Structural Design Criteria, Safety and Reliability
Track Leaders:
Wei Gao The University of New South Wales, Australia
wei.gao@csfcm.org
Nak-Sam Choi Hanyang University, Korea
nak-sam.choi@csfcm.org
2.5
Sandwich Structures and Materials
Track Leaders:
Chun-Gon Kim Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
chun.gon.kim@csfcm.org
Guoxing Lu Swinburne University of Technology, Australia guoxing.lu@csfcm.org
Zhongwei Guan University of Liverpool, UK
zhongwei.guan@csfcm.org
Christian Berggreen Technical University of Denmark, Denmark berggreen2.5@csfcm.org
2.6 Joints
Track Leaders:
Stefanie Feih Singapore Institute of Manufacturing Technology, Singapore stefanie.feih@csfcm.org
Shuguang Li University of Nottingham, UK
shuguang.li@csfcm.org
2.7 Composite Structures
Track Leaders:
Luciano Feo University of Salerno, Italy
luciano.feo@csfcm.org
Reza Vaziri University of British Columbia, Canada
reza.vaziri@csfcm.org
2.8
Office Naval Research (ONR) Session
Track Leaders:
Yapa D. S. Rajapakse Office of Naval Research, USA yapa.d.s.rajapakse@csfcm.org
Fu-Pen Chiang State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA
fu-pen.chiang@csfcm.org
Christian Berggreen Technical University of Denmark, Denmark berggreen2.8@csfcm.org
3.Experimental Methods
 
Theme Leaders:

Fu-Pen Chiang
Stony Brook University, USA

Jian Lu
City University of Hong Kong, China

Chun Wang
University of New South Wales, USA

Zhong Zhang
National Center for Nanoscience and Technology, China
3.1 Digital Image
Track Leaders:
Nam Seo Goo Konkuk University, Korea nam.seo.goo@csfcm.org
Huimin Xie Tsinghua University, China
huimin.xie@csfcm.org
Kemao Qian Nanyang Technological University, Singapore  
3.2
Ultrasound, Acoustic Emission, and Electromagnetic waves
Track Leaders:
Yoji Okabe The University of Tokyo, Japan
yoji.okabe@csfcm.org
Jung-Ryul Lee Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology  Korea
jung.ryul.lee@csfcm.org
3.3 X-Ray Computed Tomography
Track Leaders:
Johann Kastner University of Applied Science Upper Austria, Austria
johann.kastner@csfcm.org
Lingtao Mao China University of Mining and Technology (Beijing)
lingtao.mao@csfcm.org
Jianguo Zhu China University of Mining & Technology, China jianguo.zhu@csfcm.org
3.4 Interferometric Techniques
Track Leaders:
Wei-Chung Wang National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan, China
wei.chung.wang@csfcm.org
Yu-Lung Lo National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan, China yu-lung.lo@csfcm.org
3.5 Thermography
Track Leaders:
Janice M Barton University of Southampton, UK
janice.m.barton@csfcm.org
Nik Rajic Defence Science and Technology Organisation, Australia
nik.rajic@csfcm.org
3.6 Micro- and Nano- Scale Test Methods
Track Leaders:
Junfeng Geng University of Bolton, UK
junfeng.geng@csfcm.org
Jiangyu Li University of Washington, USA
jiangyu.li@csfcm.org
3.7 Moire and Grid Based Technique
Track Leaders:
Motoharu Fujigaki University of Fukui, Japan
motoharu.fujigaki@csfcm.org
Satoshi Kishimoto National Institute for Materials Science, Japan
satoshi.kishimoto@csfcm.org
3.8 Other New Testing Methods
Track Leaders:
Cesar Sciammarella Northern Illinois University, USA
cesar.sciammarella@csfcm.org
Zhanwei Liu Beijing Institute of Technology, China
zhanwei.liu@csfcm.org
4.Mechanical Properties
 
Theme Leaders:

Ole Thybo Thomsen
University of Southampton, UK

Adrian Mouritz
RMIT University, Australia

Masaki Hojo
Kyoto University, Japan
4.1 Constitutive Models
Track Leaders:
Qingsheng Yang Beijing University of Technology, China
qingsheng.yang@csfcm.org
Qing-ping Sun The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, China
qing.ping.sun@csfcm.org
4.2 Fracture and Damage
Track Leaders:
Xiqiao Feng Tsinghua Universit, China
xiqiao.feng@csfcm.org
Chiara Bisagni
Delft University of Technology,Netherland
chiara.bisagni@csfcm.org
4.3 Fatigue
Track Leaders:
Bent F. Sørensen Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
bent.f@csfcm.org
Ning Hu Chongqing University, China
ning.hu@csfcm.org
Shengping Shen Xi'an Jiaotong University, China
shengping.shen@csfcm.org
Tong Earn Tay National University of Singapore, Singapore
tong.earn.tay@csfcm.org
4.4 Dynamic Fracture
Track Leaders:
Erasmo Carrera Politecnico di Torino, Italy
erasmo.carrera@csfcm.org
Jian Wang Kingston University, UK
jian.wang@csfcm.org
Lizhi Sun University of California, Irvine,USA
lizhi.sun@csfcm.org
4.5 Dynamic Behavior
Track Leaders:
Guoliang Huang University of Missouri, USA guoliang.huang4.5@csfcm.org
Golam Newaz Wayne State University, USA
golam.newaz@csfcm.org
Lanhong Dai Institute of Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
lanhong.dai@csfcm.org
4.6 Tribology and Wear
Track Leaders:
Witold Brostow University of North Texas, USA
witold.brostow@csfcm.org
Jinglei Yang Technical University of Kaiserslautern, Germany
jinglei.yang@csfcm.org
Klaus Friedrich The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong, China  
4.7 Interfaces and Interphases
Track Leaders:
Jianxiang Wang Peking University, China
jianxiang.wang@csfcm.org
Yuantong Gu Queensland University of Technology, Australia
yuantong.gu@csfcm.org
James Thomason University of Strathclyde, UK
james.thomason@csfcm.org
David Seveno Katholieke University  Leuven, Belgium
david.seveno@csfcm.org
Alessandro Pegoretti University of Trento, Italy
alessandro.pegoretti@csfcm.org
4.8 Durability, Creep and Aggressive Environment
Track Leaders:
Rui Miranda Guedes University of Porto,  Portugal
rui.miranda.guedes@csfcm.org
Kishore Pochiraju Stevens Institute of Technology, Singapore
kishore.pochiraju@csfcm.org
5.Multifunctional and Smart Composites
 
Theme Advisors:

B.-L. ("Les") Lee
Air Force Office of Scientific Research, USA

James P. Thomas
United States Naval Research Laboratory, USA

Theme Leaders:

Daniel Inman
University of Michigan, USA

Fu-Kuo Chang
Stanford University, USA
5.1 Sensing and Self-Diagnosis
Track Leaders:
Jayantha A. Epaarachchi University of Southern Queensland, Australia
epaarachchi@csfcm.org
Xinlin Qing Xiamen University, China
xinlin.qing@csfcm.org
5.2 Actuation and Dynamic Response
Track Leaders:
Daniel J. Inman University of Michigan, USA
daniel.j.inman@csfcm.org
Alison B. Flatau University of Michigan, USA
alison.b.flatau@csfcm.org
Jinhao Qiu Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China
jinhao.qiu@csfcm.org
5.3 Stimuli Responsiveness and Shape Reconfiguration
Track Leaders:
Qibing Pei University of California, LosAngeles,USA
qibing.pei@csfcm.org
Yanju Liu Harbin Insitute of Technology, China
yanju.liu@csfcm.org
Darren Hartl Texas A&M University, USA
darren.hartl@csfcm.org
5.4 Self-Healing and Bio-inspired Designs
Track Leaders:
David Kisailus University of California, Riverside,USA
david.kisailus@csfcm.org
Richard Trask University of Bath, UK
richard.trask@csfcm.org
5.5 Energy Harvesting and Storage
Track Leaders:
Ya Wang SUNY Stony Brook, USA
ya.wang@csfcm.org
Ping Liu University of California, San Diego,USA
ping.liu@csfcm.org
5.6 Smart Structures
Track Leaders:
Jay Kudva NextGen Aeronautics, Inc., Korea
jay.kudva@csfcm.org
Kon-Well Wang University of Michigan, USA
kon.well.wang@csfcm.org
Ayech Benjeddou Institut Supérieur de Mécanique de Paris    France
ayech.benjeddou@csfcm.org
5.7 Coupled Properties and Multi-Physics Models
Track Leaders:
Narayana Aluru University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
narayana.aluru@csfcm.org
Marcelo J. Dapino The Ohio State University, USA
marcelo.j.dapino@csfcm.org
Liwu Liu Harbin Institute of Technology, China
liwu.liu@csfcm.org
5.8 Design and Manufacture for Multifunctionality
Track Leaders:
Christopher S. Lynch University of California, Los Angeles,USA
christopher.s.lynch@csfcm.org
H. Jerry Qi Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
h.jerry.qi@csfcm.org
Ioannis Chasiotis University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
ioannis.chasiotis@csfcm.org
5.9
Acoustic Meta-Composite
Track Leaders:
Guoliang Huang University of Missouri, USA guoliang.huang5.9@csfcm.org
Yue-Sheng Wang
Beijing Jiaotong University, China yue-sheng.wang@csfcm.org
6.Processing and Manufacturing
 
Theme Leaders:

Pascal Hubert
McGill University, Canada

Byung Sun Kim
Korea Institute of Material Science, Korea

Kevin D Potter
University of Bristol, UK

Hua-Xin Peng
Zhejiang University, China
6.1 Process Modelling
Track Leaders:
Tao Zhang Kingston University, UK
tao.zhang@csfcm.org
Jesper Hattel Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
jesper.hattel@csfcm.org
6.2 Processing-Manufacturing Technologies
Track Leaders:
Gangadhara Prusty University of New South Wales, Australia
gangadhara.prusty@csfcm.org
John Summerscales Plymouth University, UK
john.summerscales@csfcm.org
BC Eric Kim University of Bristol,  UK
bc.eric.kim@csfcm.org
6.3 Processing-Preforming Technologies
Track Leaders:
Gerard Fernando University of Birmingham, UK
gerard.fernando@csfcm.org
6.4 Process Induced Effects
Track Leaders:
Alper Aktas National Physical Laboratory, UK
alper.aktas@csfcm.org
Richard Butler University of Bath,  UK richard.butler@csfcm.org
6.5 Experimental Methods for Process Characterization
Track Leaders:
Nicolas Boyard French National Centre for Scientific Research, France
nicolas.boyard@csfcm.org
Min Li Beihang University, China
min.li@csfcm.org
Steven Le Corre Université de Nantes, France steven.le.corre@csfcm.org
6.6 Liquid Composites Moulding
Track Leaders:
Chris Rudd The University of Nottingham Ningbo, China
chris.rudd@csfcm.org
Lee Harper The University of Nottingham, UK
lee.harper@csfcm.org
6.7 Recycling of Composites and Sustainability
Track Leaders:
Robert Kwok-Yiu Li City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong,China
robert.kwok-yiu.li@csfcm.org
6.8 Manufacturing Up-Scaling and Automation
Track Leaders:
Takashi Ishikawa Nagoya University, Japan
takashi.ishikawa@csfcm.org
Neil Reynolds University of Warwick, UK
neil.reynolds@csfcm.org
6.9 Additive Manufacturing
Track Leaders:
Masahito Ueda Nihon University, Japan
masahito.ueda@csfcm.org
Jaehwan Kim Inha University, Korea
jaehwan.kim@csfcm.org
6.10 Machining of Composites
Track Leaders:
Luís Miguel P. Durão  Polytechnic Institute of Porto, Portugal  
7.Applications
 
Theme Leaders:

Alan KT Lau
Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

Murray Scott
Advanced Composite Structures Australia Pty Ltd., Australia

Norman Wereley
University of Maryland, USA
7.1 Aerospace
Track Leaders:
Matthew Jevons FERCHAU Engineering, Germany
matthew.jevons@csfcm.org
Jifeng Xu Commercial Aircraft Corporation of China, Ltd., China
jifeng.xu@csfcm.org
7.2 Automotive and Rail
Track Leaders:
Karl Ulrich Kainer Hamburg University of Technology, Germany karl.ulrich.kainer@csfcm.org
Jun Takahashi The University of Tokyo, Japan
jun.takahashi@csfcm.org
Xinran (Sharon) Xiao Michigan State University, USA
xinran.xiao@csfcm.org
7.3 Bio and Medical
Track Leaders:
Yihui Zhang Tsinghua University, China
yihui.zhang@csfcm.org
7.4 Civil Engineering
Track Leaders:
Ayman Mosallam University of California, Irvine,USA
ayman.mosallam@csfcm.org
7.5 Offshore and Subsea
Track Leaders:
Ming-Hwa R. Jen National Sun Yat-Sen University, China
ming-hwa.r.jen@csfcm.org
K.H. Leong PETRONAS, Malaysia
k.h.leong@csfcm.org
7.6 Renewable Energy
Track Leaders:
John Zhanhu Guo The University of Tennessee, USA
john.zhanhu.guo@csfcm.org
Su Su Wang University of Houston, USA
su.su.wang@csfcm.org
7.7 Composite Repair
Track Leaders:
John J Wang
Defence Science and Technology Group, Australia 
john.j.wang@csfcm.org
7.8 Industry Needs
Track Leaders:
Sayata Ghose The Boeing Company   USA
sayata.ghose@csfcm.org
Ji Su Langley Research Center, NASA,USA
ji.su@csfcm.org